Bourne Braves Inductees Into Hall Of Fame

 July 22, 2005


The Bourne Braves have announced their Class of 2005 inductees into the Bourne Baseball Hall of Fame.

Leading the list from the Modern Era, since 1963, are Brandon Inge and Bobby Higginson, both currently members of the Detroit Tigers.

Inge played for the Bourne Braves in 1997, hitting .265 with five home runs, 19 RBI, and was selected to the Cape League All-Star team. He was drafted out of Virginia Commonwealth University in 1998 in the second round by the Tigers and debuted for Detroit on April 3, 2001.

Higginson was with the Braves in 1991. That summer he hit .306 with five home runs and 22 RBI, and was selected to the Cape League All-Star team. He was drafted in the 12th round of the 1992 draft out of Temple University by the Detroit Tigers. His major league debut was on April 26, 1995, for Detroit. He is still a member of the Tigers, but currently on the disabled list with a knee injury.

Also having played in the Modern Era for the Bourne Braves, Mark Johnson spent two seasons on the Cape. He was an all-star in 1988 and the next year hit .313 while posting a 2-2 record on the mound. He was drafted out of Dartmouth College in the 17th round of the June draft in 1991 by the Kansas City Royals. Johnson played seven seasons in the major leagues, spending time with Pittsburg and the New York Mets with whom he went to the World Series in 2000.

Already enshrined in the Massachusetts Maritime Hall of Fame, Larry Butler joins the list of inductees. Butler played for MMA during the 1957 and 1958 seasons when the school was a member of the Upper Cape League. Both years he was selected to the all-star team and in 1957 he was the games winning pitcher.

Fred Dunbury played the outfield for the Sagamore Clouters from 1954 to 1958 and again in 1960, and was twice named to the All-Star team. Pete Mottla was the first baseman for the Bourne Clippers in 1958. In 1959, he played for the Bourne town team and in 1960 joined Sagamore. From 1961 through 1964, he was a member of the Bourne Canalmen in the Cape Cod league before returning to the Clouters to finish his career in 1965. Mottla was a three-time Cape League all-star.

From 1946 to 1948, catcher Lucien L. Bachand played for Bourne before joining Sagamore in 1949. He was selected to the Upper Cape all-star team in 1947 and 1948. Bill Powers pitched for the Sagamore Clouters in 1958 and 1959. In 58 he was the Ballentine Award winner as the Most Valuable Pitcher. In 59, he was named to the all-star team and once again received the Most Valuable Pitcher award.

Rear Admiral John (Jack) Aylmer USMS, a former Massachusetts state senator and president emeritus of the Massachusetts Maritime Academy was instrumental in 1988 in the return of Bourne to the Cape Cod Baseball League. Aylmer remains active in the league and is a member of the CCBL Hall of Fame selection committee.

The Class of 2005 will be honored before the Bourne Braves game against the Chatham As at Coady Field in Bourne on Monday, July 25. Several honorees without Major League Baseball commitments are expected to attend


Back to home page

Copyright 2004 Falmouth Publishing Co., Inc. All Rights Reserved.