Cape League Announces Lineup Of 2005 All-Stars

 July 29, 2005


On Tuesday afternoon, the teams for the annual Cape Cod baseball League All-Star game were released. A total of 45 of the nation's best college baseball stars will take the field Saturday at McKeon Park in Hyannis for the Cape Cod Baseball League's 43rd annual All-Star Game.

The West-leading Bourne Braves placed four players on the All-Star team. The East-leading Orleans Cardinals also had four selections, while the Chatham A's had eight. The CCBL All-Stars were selected today by the league's 10 field managers.

Jared Hughes (6-0, 1.54 ERA, 42 SO) of the Chatham A's, has been selected as the starting pitcher for the East, while Daniel Bard (3-2, 1.47 ERA, 62 SO) of the Wareham Gatemen is the starting hurler for the West.

West All-Stars

At first base for the West team will be Andy D'Alessio (.253, 3 HR, 13 RBI) of Hyannis. The second baseman is Brad Boyer (.276, 1 HR, 14 RBI) of Cotuit while his middle infield partner, shortstop Jason Donald, (.317, 0 HR, 2 RBI) of Cotuit, also gets a starting nod. The third baseman is another Kettleer, Bryan Harris (.276, 3 HR, 25 RBI). Behind the dish for the West team is catcher Jon Still (.320, 2 HR, 16 RBI) of Falmouth. Serving as the designated hitter is Brad Lincoln (.269, 4 HR, 19 RBI) of Bourne.

In the outfield, Falmouth’s Mark Hamilton (.253, 5 HR, 23 RBI) will play in left field. Roaming center field will be Lance Salsgiver (.336, 1 HR, 9 RBI) of Wareham and in right field is fielder Sean Gaston (.333, 0 HR, 9 RBI) of Cotuit.

West reserves include catcher Joel Collins (.319, 1 HR, 12 RBI) of Wareham, infielder Whit Robbins (.257, 4 HR, 11 RBI) of Wareham, and infielder Matt Antonelli (.246, 1 HR, 10 RBI) of Falmouth. 

The West team’s pitching staff is rounded out by: Chris Toneguzzi (5 SV, 2.18 ERA, 27 SO), of Cotuit; Justin Masterson (8 SV, 1.40 ERA, 32 SO), of Wareham; John Lalor (5-1, 1.24 ERA, 33 SO), of Wareham; Wade LeBlanc (3-1, 0.99 ERA, 39 SO), of Wareham; Forest Cory III (4-0, 1.66 ERA, 38 SO), of Bourne; Gib Hobson (4-1, 2.09 ERA, 44 SO), of Bourne; Brad Lincoln (2-1, 1.58 ERA, 47 SO), of Bourne; Brett Sinkbeil (4-0, 1.71 ERA, 48 SO), of Falmouth; Dallas Buck (1-3, 4.91 ERA, 30 SO), of Falmouth; and Tim Norton (3-1, 2.06 ERA, 62 SO), of Falmouth.

East Team

Starters for the East squad include first baseman Aaron Bates (.321, 3 HR, 11 RBI), of Brewster. At second base is one of the league’s best players this year, Evan Longoria (.323, 7 HR, 29 RBI), of Chatham. At shortstop is speedster Manny Burriss (.307, 0 HR, 7 RBI), of Orleans. The third baseman is Chris Coghlan (.333, 1 HR, 17 RBI), of Chatham. Behind the plate is catcher Danny Lehmann (.253, 2 HR, 13 RBI), of Y-D. Serving as the team’s designated hitter will be Jeff Kindel (.327, 2 HR, 10 RBI), of Y-D.

Starting in left field is Baron Frost (.375, 0 HR, 8 RBI), of Chatham. The center fielder is Colin Curtis (.333, 0 HR, 8 RBI), of Orleans. Rounding out the outfielders is right fielder Alex Presley (.373, 0 HR, 10 RBI), of Chatham.

East reserves include infielders Chris Errecart (.303, 6 HR, 22 RBI) of Yarmouth-Dennis; Scott Sizemore (.288, 1 HR, 9 RBI) of Harwich; outfielder Chris Emanuele (.303, 2 HR, 12 RBI), also of Harwich; and catcher Jordan Abruzzo (.270, 2 HR, 12 RBI), of Yarmouth-Dennis. 

Joining Hughes on the mound will be: Tim Gustafson (3-1, 1.99 ERA, 39 SO), of Yarmouth-Dennis; Andrew Miller (4-0, 1.54 ERA, 42 SO), of Chatham; Robert Woodard (5-0, 1.88 ERA, 20 SO), of Chatham; P.J Walters (5-1, 2.30 ERA, 45 SO), of Brewster; Steven Wright (10 SV, 0.95 ERA, 27 SO), of Orleans; Brad Meyers (4-1, 1.46 ERA, 22 SO), of Orleans; Derrick Lutz (10 SV, 0.00 ERA, 32 SO), of Chatham; Brandon Morrow (0-0, 1.54 ERA, 20 SO), of Yarmouth-Dennis; and Tim Lincecum (5 SV, 0.79 ERA, 58 SO), of Harwich. 


The game will be preceded by the Baseball Factory Home Run Hitting Classic at 1:15 PM. 

Last season, Bourne Braves slugger Austin Easley (University of Florida) captured the 17th annual competition after ripping 17 jacks, including nine in the finals, before the CCBL's mid-summer classic in Orleans.

The event will begin at 2:30 PM with Hyannis Sound performing the national anthem. CCBL Deputy Commissioner Dick Sullivan will once again serve as master of ceremonies, while Bill Bussiere of the Hyannis Mets and league VP Phil Edwards are co-chairmen of the event. The first pitch ceremony will be held at 3 PM with official play beginning at 3:05.

The game will be televised on College Sports Television (CSTV) and also broadcast live on PIXY 103 and in streaming audio at and also on

The first modern-era Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star Game took place in 1963 with a game between the best of the Cape League and the best of the Cranberry League. Cape League All-Stars took on the stars of the Atlantic Collegiate Baseball League from 1970 to 1987 in Cape League parks as well as at Fenway Park, Yankee Stadium, Shea Stadium, and Veterans Park.

The Cape Cod Baseball League changed to an East versus West game in 1988, and the divisional battle has been ongoing ever since. 

Two years ago at Falmouth's Guv Fuller Field, the East squad rallied from a 1-0 deficit to earn a 3-1 win over the West by scoring three runs in the ninth inning, highlighted by a two-run single by Sean Gamble (son of former MLB slugger Oscar Gamble) of Y-D. 

Sam Fuld (Hyannis) and Garrett Mock (Y-D) were named the game's most valuable players.

A record total of 197 Cape League players were on Major League Baseball rosters last year, including Boston Red Sox catcher and team captain Jason Varitek (Hyannis '91 and '93), slugging infielders Brian Roberts (Chatham '98) of the Baltimore Orioles and Nomar Garciaparra (Orleans '93) of the Chicago Cubs, outfielder Darin Erstad (Falmouth '93-'94) of the Los Angeles Angels, pitchers Mark Mulder (Bourne '97) and Matt Morris (Hyannis '93) of the St. Louis Cardinals, and Barry Zito (Wareham '97-'98) of Oakland.


Back to home page

© Copyright 2004 Falmouth Publishing Co., Inc. All Rights Reserved.