20 October 2006

Hall of Fame induction set for Nov. 4

A limited number of tickets are still available for the sixth Annual Cape Cod Baseball League's Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 4, at the Chatham Bars Inn in Chatham.

Tickets are $75 each and can be purchased by mailing a check to: Cape Cod Baseball League Hall of Fame Tickets, PO Box 266, Harwich Port MA 02646.

Included in the price are the ceremony, luncheon, dessert buffet and an afternoon press conference with the inductees. There will also be a silent auction of baseball memorabilia. The Induction ceremony starts at 10 a.m., with luncheon immediately following in the waterfront dining room.

The "closing ceremony" at 2 p.m., conducted within a town meeting format, allows for questions, comments and discussions with the Class of 2005. Desserts will be served during this part of the ceremony.

Ten former players, administrators and coaches will be inducted into the League's Hall of Fame Class.

This year's class includes major leaguers Josh Paul of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays, who was league MVP when he played for Cotuit in 1995, and Lance Niekro of the San Francisco Giants, who was also league MVP when he played for Orleans in 1999. Other 2006 inductees include Steve "Bye Bye" Balboni from the 1976 Falmouth Commodores and 1977 YD Red Sox, known for his home run hitting prowess; Rick Currier from the 1998 and 1999 Chatham A's, who was league Co-Outstanding Pitcher of Year in 1999 for his 7-0 record and 1.34 ERA; Steve Duda from the 1991 and 1992 Chatham A's, who had a 6-1 record in 1992 with a 0.90 ERA and was league playoff MVP; Ross Jones, who led the Hyannis Mets to a league championship with a .413 batting average and was a league all-star and Outstand Pro Prospect Award winner; Greg Lotzar from the 1983 Cotuit Kettleers, who batted .414 and was league and playoff MVP; Jim Hubbard, who was an outfielder with Yarmouth and Cotuit and served as a manager for Cotuit and general manager for Wareham; and Alan "Buzzy" Wilcox from Orleans, who played 17 years in the CCBL from the 1940s to the 1960's.