21 August 2005




Manny Burris and Brad Meyers

ORLEANS - In what is the most prestigious individual award of the Cape Cod Baseball League’s postseason, speedy infielder Manny Burris and pitcher Brad Meyers of Orleans have both been awarded with the Sports Ticker/ESPN Playoff MVP. 

Manny Burris and Brad Meyers
Orleans Cardinals
CCBL 2005

     Both players were instrumental in not only helping the Cardinals win the championship, but also played a tremendous role in Orleans’ success during the regular season. 

     Burris (Kent State), a Washington DC native and starter for the East Division All-Stars, was one of the top leadoff hitters in the Cape League and continued this trend in the post-season. Arguably the fastest player the Cape had to offer, Burris led his team with seven runs scored in the post-season, hit .304 and drove in three runs. Burris led all players in post-season runs scored and was in the top five in many other categories. 

     Burris’ biggest play of the year occurred when he scored from home in the ninth inning during the first game of the championship series. With the bases loaded and one out in a scoreless game, a popup near the Orleans dugout appeared to have Bourne one step closer getting out of the jam. But a heads-up play by Burris to tag up caught everyone off guard. On a close play, Burris scored from third to end the game in dramatic fashion. In the deciding game of the championship, Burris went 4-for-6, reached base five times, scored three runs and stole one base. 

     The winning pitcher of that game was 6’6”, 195-pound right-hander Meyers (Loyola Marymount), a Yorba Linda, Calif., native, who pitched six-and-one third innings. 

     Meyers struck out three batters and only allowed one run in a game that ended 10-1 in favor of Orleans. Meyers ended the playoffs with 12 2/3 innings pitched and only one run allowed, good for a sparkling 0.71 ERA. 

     It was the second straight season there were dual winners of the playoff MVP award, following the in footsteps of Josh Faiola and Ryan Fohlinger of the Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox. 

     This was also the sixth time in the award’s 21-year existence that two players shared the award, with the first duo being Mo Vaughn and John Thoden for Wareham in 1988. 

     These two great individual performances helped the Cardinals capture their second title in three years and put the finishing touch on an exciting 2005 Cape League season.
  Nick Mucci, CCBL Intern, mucci@capecodbaseball.org

John Garner, Jr.
CCBL Director of
Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394 johnwgarner@earthlink.net 

Interns:  Stephanie Falco, Jason Itzkowitz, Jenna Kubesch, Michael Kydd, Nicholas Mucci, Colin Reed