9 August 2006

Four Finalists Named for Sullivan Executive of the Year Award

CAPE COD, Mass. – Cape Cod Baseball League Commissioner Paul Galop has announced four finalists for the first CCBL Richard (Dick) Sullivan Executive of the Year Award. 

Chuck Sturtevant

Steven Wilson

John Wylde

Sol Yas

     The finalists include Chuck Sturtevant, retiring GM of the Falmouth Commodores, Steven Wilson, CCBL Treasurer and web-site coordinator, John Wylde, president/ general manager of the Wareham Gatemen and head statistician and Sol Yas, CCBL Deputy Commissioner.

     Sturtevant is stepping down as Commodores GM after being with the organization for over 20 years. He has helped build several outstanding teams, including the 2004 Falmouth squad that advanced to the CCBL Championship finale.

     Along with CCBL President Judy Walden Scarafile, Wilson oversees a league budge that exceeds $500,000 annually and also coordinates the league web-site, www.capecodbaseball.org, that experienced over seven million hits last month.

     For the past two decades, Wylde has served in numerous capacities for the Gatemen, including president, GM, public address announcer and official scorer. He has also been on several league committees.

     After serving as GM of the Brewster Whitecaps, Yas is currently deputy commissioner of the CCBL, where he also doubles as umpire in chief.

     The Sullivan Award will be presented annually for distinguished service, which includes franchise and/or league management participation, outstanding leadership qualities enhancing the franchise and/or league reputation and success, professional behavior, timeliness of required reporting mechanisms, proactive guidance for student-athletes, and overall performance that exceeds expectations by going above and beyond the call of duty. 

     Those eligible for this award include franchise executive committee members, team general managers, presidents, directors or CCBL officials.

     The award is named after current CCBL Deputy Commissioner Dick Sullivan of Chatham, who served the league with distinction in various capacities, including past commissioner, president and vice president. Sullivan is current chair of the league’s field improvements committee, which has successfully gained $600,000 in grants from the Yawkey Foundation over the past three years to enhance playing fields in Bourne, Brewster, Falmouth and Hyannis.


John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394 johnwgarner@earthlink.net 

Will Bussiere
Web Editor