21 July 2007

2007 Cape League All-Star Rosters Announced
Game to be held at Spillane Field on Saturday, July 28 at 6:00 P.M.

CAPE COD, Mass. -- Fans of the Cape Cod Baseball League will be able to watch 44 of the nationís best collegiate baseball players compete against one another at Warehamís Spillane Field in the 2007 Cape League All-Star Game. 

     The 45th annual CCBL All-Star Game is presented by the leading banks of Cape Cod -- Bank of America, TD Banknorth, Eastern Bank, Cape Cod Cooperative Bank, Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, and Citizens Bank -- for the fifth straight year and is scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m. on July 28. 
     Prior to the game, there will be a number of fan-friendly activities starting at 1:45 p.m., with the East team taking batting practice while the West Division All-Stars sign autographs. At 2:30 the teams will swap positions, followed by infield practice for the East at 3:30 and the West at 3:45. 

     The Home Run Hitting Contest, won last year and defended this year by Bourneís Mitch Moreland (Mississippi State), will be held prior to the game and is scheduled to begin at 4:00 p.m. Players will be introduced at 5:15, followed by the presenting of the colors, the National Anthem, and finally the ceremonial first pitch at 5:50 p.m. 

     The game will be broadcast live on National Public Radio, and can be heard on local FM stations WCAI 90.1, WNAN 91.1, and WZAI 94.3. NESN will also be at the game and will air the tape on Monday night at 7 p.m., when the Boston Red Sox have an off night.

     The last time that the Cape Cod Baseball League All-Star Game was held in Wareham, in 1999, the West defeated the East 6-4 and current major league stars Mark Teixeira (Orleans) and Garrett Atkins (Cotuit) were the MVPs from the East and West, respectively.

     The future major league stars who will play at Spillane Field in 2007 were announced this morning after being picked by the 10 field managers. Leading the way in each division are Falmouth and Yarmouth-Dennis, with seven selections apiece. 

     One of the easy picks for the coaches was surely Gordon Beckham (Georgia), who is currently batting at .311 with eight home runs and a league-leading 25 RBIs. His hot start at the plate has helped the Red Sox explode to a 20-9-1 record, best in the league. Earning the start for the East is another Red Sox standout, 6-foot-8 Eddie Burns (Georgia Tech), who is 4-0 on the season with a 2.25 ERA and 28 strikeouts.

     Other starters for the East are Brewsterís first baseman Yonder Alonso (Miami) and left fielder Charlie Cutler (California); Harwich second baseman Cole Figueroa (Florida); Y-D catcher Jason Castro (Stanford) and center fielder Collin Cowgill (Kentucky); Chatham third baseman Jermaine Curtis (UCLA) and designated hitter Allan Dykstra (Wake Forest); and Orleans right fielder Dennis Raben (Miami).

     Reserves for the East include Red Sox catcher Buster Posey (Florida State), first baseman Sean Ochinko (Louisiana State), and closer Nick Cassavechia (Baylor); Mariners outfielder Kyle Day (Michigan State) and pitchers Corey Young (Seton Hall), and Evan Crawford (Auburn); Whitecaps outfielder Blake Tekotte (Miami) and pitchers Mike Colla (Arizona) and Matt Couch (San Diego); and Cardinals pitchers Will Atwood (South Carolina), Brad Boxberger (Southern California) and Ryan Perry (Arizona).

     The West starters are led by Bourne Braves second baseman Kevin Hoef (Iowa), who is currently hitting at .350 with eight stolen bases on the season, and Ben Guez (William and Mary), who has a division-best 23 RBIs. Right-handed pitcher Aaron Crow (Missouri) has earned the start for the West after posting a 3-1 record with a 0.64 ERA and 25 strikeouts. 

     Joining those three in the starting lineup will be Wareham catcher Josh Phegley (Indiana); Hyannis first baseman Shane Peterson (Long Beach State) and designated hitter Dan Brewer (Bradley); Falmouth third baseman Conor Gillaspie (Wichita State), left fielder Aja Barto (Tulane) and right fielder Matt Hague (Washington); and Cotuit shortstop Reese Havens (South Carolina).

     On the bench to start the game for the West will be Cotuit catcher Robert Stock (Southern California) and pitcher Josh Lindblom (Purdue); Hyannis infielder James Darnell (South Carolina) and closer Tyler Stohr (North Florida); Bourne outfielder Josh Satin (California) and pitchers Jordan Flasher (George Mason) and T.J. Hose (East Carolina); Falmouth pitchers Kyle Gibson (Missouri) and Christian Friedrich (Eastern Kentucky); and Wareham pitchers Wade Miley (SE Louisiana) and Chris Hicks (Georgia Tech).

     The East team will be managed by Y-Dís Scott Pickler, who will be assisted by Bob Macaluso, John Schiffner, Steve Englert and Kelly Nicholson. The West coaching staff will be headed up by Mike Roberts who will be assisted by Cooper Farris, Harvey Shapiro, Jeff Trundy, and Greg King.

     Enjoying its 123rd season in 2007, the 10-team Cape League originated in 1885 with individual town teams, was reorganized into the Cape Cod Baseball League in 1923 with teams in Chatham, Falmouth, Hyannis and Osterville and is now the premier collegiate baseball summer league in the country. 

     A total of 198 former Cape Leaguers currently perform in the major leagues, including former Cy Young Award winner Barry Zito (Wareham '97-'98), former MVP Frank Thomas (Orleans '88), former AL batting champion Nomar Garciaparra (Orleans '93), and current Boston Red Sox captain Jason Varitek (Hyannis '91 & '93). 

     Cape League alumni of yesteryear include Baseball Hall of Famer Harold "Pie" Traynor (Falmouth '19), former New York Yankee greats Red Rolfe (Orleans '30) and Thurman Munson (Chatham '67), Cy Young Award winner Mike Flanagan (Falmouth '72), Rolaids Fireman-of-the-Year Jeff Reardon (Cotuit '74-76), former AL MVP Mo Vaughn (Wareham '87-88), long-time major league scout Lennie Merullo (Barnstable '35) and major league Manager of the Year Nat "Buck" Showalter (Hyannis '76).

Data compiled by Will Bussiere
By Kevin Wolfe, CCBL intern, wolfe@capecodbaseball.org


John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394

Joe Sherman
Web Editor
(508) 775-4364