11 August 2007




Tim Carey Selected as Clement Award Winner
For Excellence as Umpire in Cape Cod Baseball League

     Veteran umpire Tim Carey has received the fourth annual Curley Clement Award, presented for officiating excellence and contributions over the years to baseball umpiring. 

Tim Carey, CBUAO
SportsPix 2007

     The Clement Award was presented to Carey during the last Cape Cod Baseball League regular-season game at Cotuit on Aug. 8 by CCBL Commissioner Paul Galop and Deputy Commissioner Sol Yas.

     “It’s certainly an honor to receive an award such as this from one of the top summer college baseball leagues in the country,” said Carey, who worked more than 20 games in the CCBL this summer. “I’d like to thank the Cape League for selecting me and (assignor) Nick Zibelli for having such good faith in me.”

     A father of two who lives in Swansea, Mass., Carey has worked as a Division I college umpire for the past 12 years and the past seven summers in the Cape League. He was assigned to umpire in the NCAA Division III College World Series.

     He is a former standout catcher at Stonehill College and currently is proprietor of Dighton Surplus Sales.

     Clement, a Hyannis resident, worked as a Cape League umpire over four decades and was inducted into the CCBL Hall of Fame in 2002. He umpired 16 NCAA Division I Baseball Regionals, several ECAC Division I Baseball Championships and two NCAA College World Series during his career. 

     His final Cape League appearance was working home plate at the 2000 CCBL All-Star Game. He passed away in 2006 after a long illness.

     Previous Curley Clement Award winners include Peter Hall (2006), Jim McNally (2005) and Walter Bentson (2004).

Tim Carey, CBUAO
with Commissioner Paul Galop and Umpire in Chief Sol Yas
SportsPix 2007

Tim Carey
with CBUAO umpires
SportsPix 2007


By John W. Garner Jr., CCBL Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting


John Garner, Jr.
Director of Public Relations & Broadcasting
(508) 790-0394

Joe Sherman
Web Editor
(508) 775-4364)

Interns 2007: Erica Bailey, John Hannemann, Liz Hoffman,
Gabriella Remington, Kevin Wolfe